2018 — 2021 Kefraya, Lebanon

"Lining Kefraya" Hotel

Located on one of the largest vineyards spreading along the Bekaa Valley, the architecture of this project is the expression of the earth from which it emerges. It is the materialisation of the story of this land, built in time and by time, cultivated by the hands of a mythic man, Michel De Boustros, who at the peak of the Lebanese war, continued to grow an exceptional vineyard. Developed as an act of resilience during the unsettling years of this country, Kefraya is considered today as one of the largest territories dedicated to wine production. It is set on the deepest geological fault of the region and enjoys, due to that, a very rich « terroir ». Canaanites Archeological remains are also found to witness of the long history of this estate. 


Set in this rich context, we have designed this project as a vertical « Land work ». It emerges slowly from earth and dialogues with the territory on which it is built. Earthly-like accumulations structure its shape: A series to porticoes intertwine with large panes of glass that bear the reflection of the beautiful landscape surrounding this temporary dwelling. The building plays both on monumentality and on evanescence. Its dimensions, prolonged length, sets it out as a landmark with this territory while its reflecting skin extends the vineyards onto the edifice’s body and in the heart of its spaces.
From within, the restaurant, the reception spaces, the wine cellar, the dwellings, rooms appear as « excavations » within this intervention. The act of excavating bares the memory of this territory, as the interior draws a parallel to the troglodyte structures: archaeological remains existing on site. The vineyards are pictured in large frames. Moving along the building’s length, visitors are invited to delve into the intensity of wine. From golden like reflections into Red velvet like interiors, the journey of the dweller bares the pure immersion into the textures, the color, and the dazzle of the wine experience.  
 

 […] [×]

Info + Press

Project information

Status
Competition
Location
Kefraya, Lebanon
Date
2018 — 2021
Area
3400 m²
Commission type
Private
Client
Kefraya Wines
Program
Vineyard of Kefraya Estate

Project team

Architect
Lina Ghotmeh — Architecture

Your browser does not support the canvas tag.

2018 — 2021 Kefraya, Liban

"Lining Kefraya" Hôtel

Situé sur l'un des plus grands vignobles s'étendant le long de la vallée de la Bekaa, l'architecture de ce projet est l'expression de la terre depuis laquelle il émerge. C’est la matérialisation de l’histoire construite dans le temps et construite par les mains d’un homme mythique, Michel De Boustros, qui, pendant la guerre du Liban, a continué à étendre ce vignoble exceptionnel. Développé comme un acte de résilience au cours des années troubles de ce pays, « Kefraya » est aujourd'hui considéré comme l'un des plus vastes territoires dédiés à la production de vin. Il est situé sur la faille géologique la plus profonde de la région et jouit, de ce fait, d'un très riche terroir. Des vestiges archéologiques des canaanites présents sur site témoignent également de la longue histoire de ce domaine.


Dans ce contexte, nous avons conçu ce projet comme un « Land Work » une émergence verticale. Le bâtiment surgit lentement de la terre et dialogue avec le territoire sur lequel il est construit. Une colonnade, faite d’accumulation de terre, structure sa forme : la série de portiques s'entrelacent avec les grandes vitres qui reflètent le magnifique paysage qui entoure cette demeure temporaire. Le bâtiment joue une présence à la fois monumentale et évanescente. Ses dimensions, sa longueur le positionnent comme un repère, une ‘Land Mark’ dans ce territoire tandis que sa peau réfléchissante étend les vignes sur son corps et au cœur de ses espaces.
Au sein de cette architecture, le restaurant, les espaces de réception, la cave à vin, les habitations, les chambres sont « excavées ». Un processus qui prolonge la mémoire de ce territoire, l’intérieur faisant un parallèle avec les structures troglodytiques : ces vestiges archéologiques existants sur le site. Les vignobles apparaissent depuis l’intérieur comme encadrés. En se déplaçant le long du bâtiment, les visiteurs sont invités à se plonger dans l’intensité de l’expérience du vin. Des reflets dorés jusqu’à un velours rouge, le voyage de l'habitant se révèle comme une pure immersion dans les textures, les couleurs et la sensorialité de l'expérience viticole.

 […] [×]

Info + Presse

Project information

Statut
Concours
Lieu
Kefraya, Liban
Date
2018 — 2021
Surface
3400 m²
Commission
Privé
Client
Kefraya Wines
Programme
Boutique Hotel, Restaurants, Expositions

Project team

Architecte
Lina Ghotmeh — Architecture

Your browser does not support the canvas tag.