2018 — 2021 Tours, France

'Urban Dance' - National Dance Centre of Tours

The drawing of the National Choreographic Center of Tours is conceived as an ode to dance and movement. The movement is urban and is experienced from the exterior as well as from the interior of the building by the irrigation of its spaces driven from its forecourt, from the vertebral spine of the ZAC, the green spine.

The NCCT – which develops a considerable effort in favor of the diffusion of dance – is of a paramount importance for a lively and vivid contemporary art practice. We wished not only to translate this livelihood, but to give it the means to express itself. The spaces devoted to the representation allow superb quality productions and their polymorphic characteristics allow space experimentations.

In line of NCCT’s action to sensitize Art for all, by pursuing openness and diversity, we decided to glorify Art without sacralizing it. Beauty is not only for initiates; beauty is given to all. The architecture is conceived to make openness and discovery possible and fruitful. To that end, we reflected on the link between all the concerned actors. The spaces were though to create exchange possibilities, encounters and dialogs.

The new NCCT emerges from a site with a rich past (medieval, industrial, military…). These traces draw upon the future. The barracks’ recent past is still very present in the local inhabitant’s memories. Therefore, we decided to pay tribute to it by the building’s volumes and roof inspired by its esthetics. The ancient past, yet foundational for the site, led us to create a ‘secret’ garden referring to the presence of the Archbishopric canal still flowing underground.

Nowadays, the construction field can’t ignore the environmental issues. Hence, all our work is driven in that sense. As adepts of the Cradle-to-cradle movement, we applied its principles in the confection of the project, made of a mixed layout of material from the old building itself. The traces projected to the future tell us: The pas IS present. The past IS future.

 […] [×]

Info + Press

Project information

Status
Ongoing
Location
Tours, France
Date
2018 — 2021
Area
3570 m²
Commission type
Public
Client
Ville de Tours
Program
Centre Chorégraphique National

Project team

Architect
Lina Ghotmeh — Architecture

2018 — 2021 Tours, France

"Danse urbaine" - Centre Chorégraphique National de Tours

Le dessin de ce Centre Chorégraphique de Tours est conçu comme une ode à la danse et au mouvement. Le mouvement est urbain, Il est ressenti, tant de l’extérieur que de l’intérieur du bâtiment, par l’irrigation dans tous ses espaces d’un élan amorcé dès son parvis, dès la Coulée Verte, colonne vertébrale de la ZAC.

Le CCNT - programmateur, développant une véritable action en faveur de la diffusion de la danse - est d’une importance capitale pour un art contemporain vivant et vivace. Nous avons voulu, non seulement traduire cette vivacité, mais lui donner les moyens de s’exprimer. Les espaces dévolus aux représentations permettent la très grande qualité des productions et leurs caractères polymorphes rendent possible l’expérimentation spatiale.

Dans la droite ligne de l’action du CCNT de sensibilisation à l’art pour tous et d’ouverture à sa diversité, nous avons cherché à glorifier l’art sans le sacraliser. Le beau n’est pas affaire d’initiés, le beau est offert à tous. L’architecture est conçue pour rendre l’ouverture et la découverte possibles et fécondes. Pour ce faire nous avons pensé le lien entre tous les acteurs qui y œuvrent. Les espaces sont réfléchis pour pouvoir essaimer des possibilités d’échanges, de rencontres et de dialogues.

Ce projet émerge de ce site au passé riche (médiéval, industriel, militaire…). Ce sont ces traces passées aussi qui dessinent l’avenir. Le passé récent de l’ancienne caserne est encore très présent dans la mémoire des habitants du quartier. Nous avons choisi de lui faire référence par les volumes et par le toit dont nous reprenons les codes tout en les détournant. Passé plus ancien mais fondateur pour la cité, en faisant référence par un jardin ‘secret’ à la présence du canal de l’Archevêché qui court encore dans son sous-sol.

Le domaine de la construction ne peut plus faire fi des problématiques environnementales qui marquent notre temps. Ainsi, nos créations œuvrent en ce sens. Adeptes du mouvement Cradle-to-Cradle, nous appliquons ici ces principes à la confection constituées d’un calepinage de matériaux issus de l’ancienne caserne même. Ces traces du passé affleurants nous le disent : Le passé EST présent. Le passé EST futur.

 […] [×]

Info + Presse

Project information

Statut
En cours
Lieu
Tours, France
Date
2018 — 2021
Surface
3570 m²
Commission
Public
Client
Ville de Tours
Programme
Centre Chorégraphique National

Project team

Architecte
Lina Ghotmeh — Architecture